Skylight Faculty Advisory Council

Faculty involvement is vital to the success of the Skylight’s programs, services and initiatives. Our Faculty Advisory Council is composed of leaders in science education, with representation from all UBC Science departments.

The council provides informed guidance, serves as an ally in Skylight’s mission, and ensures that Skylight remains connected to the teaching and learning priorities of departments and their members.

  • Gülnur Birol, Director of Skylight and Council Chair
  • Warren Code, Associate Director of Skylight
  • Greg Bole, Senior Instructor, Zoology/Botany
  • Bruce Dunham, Senior Instructor, Statistics
  • Sara Harris, Professor of Teaching, Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences
  • Tracy Kion, Senior Instructor, Microbiology and Immunology
  • Rachel Pottinger, Associate Professor, Computer Science
  • Costanza Piccolo, Instructor, Math
  • Georg Rieger, Instructor, Physics and Astronomy
  • Trish Schulte, Professor, Zoology
  • Jackie Stewart, Senior Instructor, Chemistry
  • Ian Cavers (ex-officio), Associate Dean, Faculty of Science